UAE bans citizens from travelling to Sri Lanka

Citizens of the United Arab Emirates (UAE) cannot travel to several countries including Sri Lanka till July 21, several foreign media reports have said citing authorities.

The reports cited the Emirates’ Foreign Ministry and the National Emergency, Crisis and Disaster Management Authority as saying that citizens need to comply with all precautionary and preventive measures related to Covid-19 with the start of the travel season, Hindustan Times reported.

The order comes after the UAE in June extended the travel ban on passengers from 14 countries until July 21 in view of the Covid-19 pandemic.

The UAE’s General Civil Aviation Authority said in a Notice Issued to Airmen (NOTAM) that flights from 14 countries–Liberia, Namibia, Sierra Leone, Democratic Republic Of Congo, Uganda, Zambia, Vietnam, India, Bangladesh, Nepal, Sri Lanka, Nigeria and South Africa–will remain suspended until 23:59pm of July 21, 2021. Cargo flights, as well as business and charter flights, would be exempted from the restrictions.

The UAE also said its citizens must self-isolate in case they test positive for Covid-19 while travelling and follow all instructions, requirements and health protocols applied by their host countries. They will also have to notify the UAE’s embassies in their host countries if they get Covid-19. (Colombo Gazette)