Government decides to shut schools islandwide

The Government today decided to close all schools islandwide due to the coronavirus situation in the country.

Cabinet Spokesman Minister Keheliya Rambukwella told reporters today that all schools will be closed until Friday, the 30th of April.

Minister Rambukwella further said all tuition classes have also been suspended.

Earlier, schools were closed only in specific areas.

It was announced earlier that only schools in the Sabragamuwa Province, Western and North Western Provinces and the Kegalle, Anuradhapura, Trincomalee and Ampara Districts will be closed during this period.

Several schools in the Kegalle District and 13 schools within the Anuradhapura Educational Zone were also closed until Friday.

All schools in the Kanthale Education Zone in the Trincomalee District and in the Maha-Oya and Ampara Education Zones in the Ampara District were also closed.

Fifteen schools in the Siyambalanduwa, Monaragala, and Badulla education zones in the Monaragala District were also closed until Friday.

Also, all Anglican and Catholic schools in the Western and North Western Provinces were closed during this period.

Over 900 Covid infected individuals were reported in the 24-hour period ending at 06am today.

A significant spike in Covid cases has been reported in Sri Lanka since the Sinhala and Tamil New Year, which was celebrated last week. (Colombo Gazette)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here