Another Government MP tests positive

Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna (SLPP) MP Wasantha Yapa Bandara has tested positive for COVID-19.

Parliament sources confirmed to Colombo Gazette that SLPP Kandy District MP Bandara is the sixth parliamentarian to test positive.

Initially, MPs Dayasiri Jayasekara, Rauff Hakeem, and Vasudeva Nanayakkara tested positive for COVID-19.

Thereafter, State Minister Piyal Nishantha de Silva and Health Minister Pavithra Wanniarachchi too contracted the virus.

MPs Jayasekara, Hakeem, and Nanayakkara were discharged after complete recovery.

State Minister de Silva and Health Minister Wanniarachchi are receiving treatment at a COVID treatment facility in Hikkaduwa at present.

Nearly 32 parliamentarians have been subjected to PCR tests so far as a precautionary measure.

Meanwhile, 911 parliamentary staff have also been subjected to PCR tests at the Parliamentary Complex so far. (Colombo Gazette)