SJB sacks all MPs who backed 20th Amendment from Parliamentary group

The Samagi Jana Balawegaya (SJB) has sacked all the SJB Parliamentarians who voted in support of the 20th Amendment to the Constitution, from the Parliamentary group.

SJB Parliamentarian Dr. Harsha de Silva said that the SJB met this evening and decided to expel those MPs from the SJB Parliamentary group.

This evening @sjbsrilanka decided to immediately expel from our parliamentary group all SJB MPs who voted with the Government to pass the autocratic 20th amendment to the Constitution in violation of the unanimous SJB decision not to do so. Further disciplinary action to follow,” he said.

Several opposition Samagi Jana Balawegaya Parliamentarians backed the 20th Amendment to the Constitution in Parliament yesterday.

SJB MPs Diana Gamage, Ishaq Rahuman, M. Raheem, Nasir Ahmed, Mohomed Harris, Faizal Cassim, Aravind Kumar and MS Thowfeek voted in support of the 20th Amendment to the Constitution. (Colombo Gazette)


  1. As the election results were coming in August , it was known to common man that getting 2/3 is a a small matter. Our courts have never found fault with crossing over. One of the former CJ had laid the foundation for this. Now the rule is clear. Win a seat from any party and thereafter use the best options. It happened on 22nd on the expected lines of the common man except for the cross over of Hon Diana, and Aravinda Kumar. One of them is a Nominated MP specially picked by SJB in preference over most eligible.
    Sajith will now justify and understand the difficulties faced by Ranil and the cause for RW’s actions. It is well known that RW and Sajith are equally responsible for destroying UNP , and weakening the opposition. In most of the rallies Sajith was attacking Ranil and not the opposition.

    Sajith has to clearly answer for the behaviour of his Nominated MP, and the failure to nominate a single from the minorities. Sajith knew well, as most UNP ers knew , who was behind the destruction of UNP.

Comments are closed.