20th Amendment to the Constitution passed with amendments

The 20th Amendment to the Constitution was passed in Parliament today with amendments.

The Bill was passed with 156 MPs voting for and 65 against it.

A number of Samagi Jana Balawegaya (SJB) Parliamentarians voted for the 20th Amendment.

The second reading of the 20th Amendment to the Constitution was passed with 156 votes for and 65 against it.

Later, after the amendments were introduced a vote was taken on the third and final reading and it was passed with 156 MPs voting for and 65 against it.

Opposition MPs Diana Gamage, Ishaq Rahuman, M. Raheem, Nasir Ahmed, Mohomed Harris, Faizal Cassim, Aravind Kumar and MS Thowfeek who voted for the Bill in the second reading, voted in support again during the third reading.

Former President Maithripala Sirisena was absent during the vote. (Colombo Gazette)


  1. Don’t be fooled by uninformed people.

    Uniformed people are misleading the people with their limited knowledge. For an example, I can give up the Australian citizenship to become a member of Parliament in Sri Lanka and still remain loyal to Australia. What is stopping me being loyal to Australia? Once I have accomplished my ulterior motives in Sri Lanka on behalf of the Australian Government, I will apply for a permanent residency visa to resettle in Australia and the government of Australia will provide millions of dollars and you have no way of accessing my Australian bank account to know the real deals. Don’t judge a person’s loyalty based on his citizenship. In fact, billions of South Asians are loyal to the Western countries and following failed policies, otherwise how come two billion people cannot compete with the West?

Comments are closed.