SLPP Parliamentarian Mahinda Yapa unanimously picked as Speaker

Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna (SLPP) Parliamentarian Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena was today picked as the Speaker of the 09th Parliament of Sri Lanka.

His name was nominated by Leader of the House Dinesh Gunawardena and seconded by Samagi Jana Balawegaya (SJB) General Secretary Ranjith Madduma Bandara.

Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena was the only one nominated to the post of Speaker and so was appointed uncontested.

Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa, SJB Leader Sajith Premadasa, Tamil National Alliance leader R. Sampanthan and newly elected Parliamentarian C.V Wigneswaran were among those who congratulated him following his appointment.

Premadasa expressed the hope that Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena will carry out his duties in a fair and just manner.

Born on 10th October, 1945 in Makandura, Matara, Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena is a senior politician with more than 30 years of experience. Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena received his primary education from Thelijjavila Central College and Rahula College, Matara . He then obtained his first degree from the University of Colombo. He has also received specialized training in Management from the Institute of Management, Chandigarh in India.

He won the Hakmana by-election in 1983 and entered to the Parliament for the first time representing the United National Party. He has been a Member of Parliament for 23 years. Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena, who contested from the Sri Lanka Podu Jana Peramuna for the Matara District in 2020 General Election, entered Parliament with 80,895 preferential votes.

He was the Chairman of the Southern Provincial Council during 1993/94 period and also served as the Chief Minister of the same Provincial Council from 1994 to 2001. He has also held a number of Ministries such as Health, Cultural Affairs and National Heritage, Irrigation and Rural Development, Industry and Commerce, Parliamentary Affairs and Agriculture.

He was also a member of the COPE Committee in 1987. Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena has also attended the Asian Parliament for Peace in Beijing, China in 2002, attended the 50th C.P.A Conference in Dhaka, Bangladesh and the 2005 International Parliamentary Conference in Fiji. (Colombo Gazette)


  1. Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena before he was elected to Parliament in 1983 was an accountant in a firm called Burah Hathy.Late Mr N.G.P Panditharatna the Chairman of the UNP at that time recommended him to late Cyril Mathew the then Minister of Industries and Scientific Affairs to the Post of Chairman Paranthan Chemicals Corporation in 1977.
    After entering Parliament he had a disagreement with Ranil and crossed over. He held Ministerial Portfolios under Mahinda Rajapakse but declined to take up a Post under the Yahapalanaya Govt in 2015.
    i thought of enlightening the public on his career prior to 1983 ie from 1977 to 1983.

Comments are closed.