Ninth Parliament of Sri Lanka convenes for the first time

The ninth Parliament of Sri Lanka convened for the first time today.

Secretary General of Parliament, Dhammika Dasanayake, commenced Parliament sittings by reading the gazette notice issued by President Gotabaya Rajapaksa summoning Parliament today.

This is the first time in history that Parliament is meeting without a single member of the United National Party.

The ninth Parliament met today with 81 new faces elected at the last Parliamentary election.

The new Parliament convened by following health guidelines issued to prevent the spread of the coronavirus.

Earlier in the day, Foreign Minister Dinesh Gunawardena assumed duties in Parliament as the Leader of the House.

Minister Johnston Fernando assumed duties as the new Chief Government Whip. (Colombo Gazette)