Islandwide curfew to continue till 20 April

The islandwide curfew will continue till 20 April and a decision on extending it further will be decided by then, the President’s office said today.

The President’s office said that the curfew currently in force in the districts of Colombo, Gampaha, Kalutara,  Puttalam, Kandy and Jaffna which have been identified as High Risk Zones will continue until further notice.

In all other districts, the curfew will be lifted at 6.00am tomorrow, Thursday, the 16th April and will be re-imposed at 4.00 pm on the same day. The curfew in these areas will be effective until 6.00 am on Monday, the 20th April.

Imposing curfew in these districts after 6.00am on April 20th will be notified later, the President’s office said in a statement.

“The sole purpose of these measures including imposing curfew is to ensure the well-being of the people of this country in this critical situation. Hence, the Government requests the public to bear the inconveniences caused as a result of ongoing curfew in a responsible manner,” the President’s office said.

The Government also urged the public to purchase only the most essential items and to avoid unnecessary travelling.

Traveling to and from all districts has been completely prohibited except for the purpose of providing essential services.

Those who misuse regulations introduced with the prime objective of ensuring the smooth and efficient functioning of essential services will severely be dealt with according to the law. (Colombo Gazette)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here