Curfew to be temporarily lifted for 19 districts

The islandwide Police curfew imposed in 19 Districts will be temporarily lifted at 06.00 a.m. tomorrow (06) and re- imposed at 02.00 p.m. the same day.

The President’s Media Division (PMD) said the curfew imposed in the Colombo, Gampaha, Kalutara, Puttalam, Kandy and Jaffna Districts will remain in effect until further notice.

An islandwide Police curfew has been in effect since 20 March to curtail the spread of the COVID-19 in Sri Lanka.

The Colombo, Gampaha, Kalutara, Puttalam, Kandy and Jaffna Districts have been identified as high risk areas for the spread of the virus.

The PMD said Imamul Aroos Mawatha in Colombo, Akurana in Kandy and Atalugama in Kalutara which were declared as isolation areas will remain so until further notice.

Movements between Districts, unless for essential services, has been completely restricted, while legal action will be taken against those violating the law, the PMD added. 

The President’s Media Division further said the Government has taken all necessary measures to distribute essential goods to residents without any shortage during the curfew. (Colombo Gazette)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here