Curfew in 19 districts to continue till Monday

The islandwide Police curfew that was temporarily lifted to 19 Districts at 06.00 a.m. today will be reimposed at 2.00 p.m. today.

The President’s Media Division (PMD) said the curfew will be in effect till 06.00 a.m. on 06 April and will be reimposed at 02.00 p.m. the same day.

An islandwide Police curfew was imposed on 20 March to curtail the spread of the coronavirus in Sri Lanka.

Meanwhile, curfew for the Colombo, Gampaha, Kalutara, Puttalam, Kandy and Jaffna Districts, which were identified as high risk areas for the spread of Covid-19, will be in place until further notice.

The PMD said Atalugama in Kalutara and Akurana in Kandy have been declared as isolated areas and will continue to remain so until further notice.

All entry and exit to and from the isolated areas have been prohibited until further notice, the PMD added.

The President’s Media Division further said movements between Districts, other than for essential services, has been completely prohibited.

Strict legal action will be taken against those who violate the permits granted for essential services, it added. (Colombo Gazette)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here