Mahinda takes oaths as Sri Lanka’s new Prime Minister

Opposition Leader Mahinda Rajapaksa took oaths as Sri Lanka’s new Prime Minister today.

He took oaths before President Gotabaya Rajapaksa at the Presidential Secretariat.

Former President Maithripala Sirisena and former Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe were among those present.

Following the defeat of his party’s candidate at the recently concluded Presidential election, former Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe tendered his resignation clearing the way for the new President to form a Government.

Prime Minister Rajapaksa was first elected to Parliament in 1970 and served as Prime Minister from 6 April 2004 until his victory in the 2005 presidential election. He was sworn in for his first six-year term as president on 19 November 2005. He was re-elected for a second term on 27 January 2010.

A lawyer by profession, Rajapaksa represents the Southern electorate of Hambantota. He held many portfolios including the post of the Minister of Labour and Vocational Training, Fisheries and Aquatic Resources Development and the Minister of Ports, Shipping and Fisheries.