Five EU Parliamentarians join election observers on the field

Five EU Parliamentarians have joined an EU Election Observer Mission deployed to Sri Lanka to observe the 2019 Presidential election.

The Chief Observer of the European Union Election Observer Mission (EU EOM) Marisa Matias today launched the latest phase of the mission, deploying 30 short-term observers to all nine provinces in the country for election day observations.

The 30 observers and five members of the European Parliament will join 30 long-term observers already on the field carrying out election observation work.

In response to an invitation by the Election Commission, the European Union has deployed an EU Election Observation Mission to Sri Lanka to observe the presidential election, scheduled for 16 November 2019.

The EU has a long history of accompanying the electoral process in Sri Lanka and has deployed EOMs on five previous occasions, the last in 2015, which the EU says reflects the EU’s long-term commitment and partnership with Sri Lanka.

The Election Observation Mission core team of nine EU election analysts arrived in Colombo on 5 October and will stay in the country until the completion of the electoral process.

The core team was joined by 30 long-term observers who were deployed across the country, and for the election week have been joined by additional 30 short-term observers.

Shortly after Election Day, the mission will issue a preliminary statement and hold a press conference in Colombo.

A final report, including recommendations for future electoral processes, will be presented at a later stage, after the finalisation of the electoral process. (Colombo Gazette)


Comments are closed.