SLPP signs agreement with 16 parties to form new alliance

The Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna (SLPP) signed a Memorandum of Understanding with 16 political parties today to form a new alliance.

SLPP Presidential candidate Gotabaya Rajapaksa signed the agreement with the representatives of the 16 political parties to form the Sri Lanka Nidahas Podujana Sandhanaya.

The Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP) is among the 16 parties who signed the agreement with the SLPP.

Others in the new alliance are the EPDP led by Douglas Devananda and the TMVP led by Sivanesathurai Chandrakanthan.