SLPP wins Elpitiya PS elections

The Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna (SLPP) secured a morale boosting win at the Elpitiya Pradeshiya Sabha elections today.

The SLPP won all the wards of the Elpitiya Pradeshiya Saba in the election held today.

The SLPP obtained 23,372 votes (17 seats) while the UNP got 10,113 votes (7 seats), UPFA 5,273 votes (3 seats) and JVP – 2,435 votes (2 seats).

The election was held just days ahead of the Presidential election.

SLPP spokesman Keheliya Rambukwella said that the road to the 2019 Presidential election has been launched with the public giving their verdict on the SLPP and its Presidential candidate.

He said the SLPP secured a commanding win at the Elpitiya election with 17 seats being won as opposed to a combined 12 seats by the others.


  1. MR got more than this in 2015 and still lost.
    Presidential Election 2015
    Bentara-Elpitiya Electorate
    Mahinda Rajapaksa – 42015 (59.08%)
    Maithripala Sirisena – 28287 (39.78%)

Comments are closed.