Several independent candidates submit nomination papers

Several independent candidates submitted their nomination papers to the National Elections Commission this morning.

The nomination papers were handed over as the time allocated to submit the papers opened at 9am today.

Most independent candidates handed over their nomination papers at the Elections Commission in Rajagiriya.

Among those who handed over their nomination papers are popular businessman Rohan Pallewatte, Siritunga Jayasuriya, Rajiva Wijesinha and M.K Sivajilingham.

A tight police security was placed around the National Elections Commission in Rajagiriya.

Candidates contesting the Presidential election on November 16 were given time till 11am today to submit their nomination papers.

A record 41 candidates placed cash deposits to contest the election.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here