Seven-judge bench decides to proceed with case on IGP, Hemasiri

A seven-judge Supreme Court bench has granted leave to proceed with 12 Fundamental Rights (FR) petitions filed against IGP Pujith Jayasundara and former Defence Secretary Hemasiri Fernando over the Easter Sunday terror attacks.

The petitions were taken up before Supreme Court today.

The judge bench chaired by Chief Justice Jayantha Jayasuriya consists of Justices Buwaneka Aluwihare, Sisira de Abrew, Priyantha Jayewardene, Prasanna Jayewardene, L.T.B. Dehideniya and Murdu Fernando sat for the petition hearing.

The petitions were filed by several parties including the Sri Lanka Bar Association (BASL).

The petitioners accuse that the IGP and the former Defense Secretary of infringing the fundamental rights of the affected people by failing to prevent the terror attacks on churches and hotels even when intelligence information had forewarned.