Government survives; no-confidence motion defeated

The Government today survived a no-confidence motion in Parliament with the motion being defeated in a vote.

The motion was presented by the Janatha Vimukthi Peramuna (JVP) accusing the Government over the Easter Sunday attacks.

After two days of debate the motion was taken for a vote today and 92 MPs voted for the motion while 119 voted against it.

The Sri Lanka Freedom Party and the Joint Opposition voted in support of the motion with the JVP.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here