Commissioners appointed to the Office for Reparations

Commissioners have been appointed to the Office for Reparations for a period of three years, the Secretariat for Coordinating Reconciliation Mechanisms said.

Accordingly Dhara Wijayathilake, Dr. J. M. Swaminathan, Sellaththambi Sumithra, A. A. M. Fathihu and Lt. Colonel (Rtd.) W. W. Rathnapriya Bandu have been appointed as commissioners for the Office for Reparations on the recommendation of the Constitutional Council.

The Commissioners were selected in an open and competitive process conducted by the Constitutional Council.

An allocation of Rs. 700 million was made for the establishment and the staffing of the Office for Reparations in the 2019 budget.

The office has been a key demand of international observers urging reconciliation in Sri Lanka.

The office will decide on potentially tens of thousands of compensation claims from those afflicted by fighting that ended in 2009 with the defeat of the LTTE. (Colombo Gazette)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here