Sri Lanka bat first in day-night Test

Sri Lanka won the toss and decided to bat first in the day-night cricket test at the Gabba on Thursday.

Sri Lanka captain Dinesh Chandimal said it “looks like a real good pitch” while Australia captain Tim Paine said he also would have opted to bat if he’d won the toss in the pink-ball test.

“Early on there will definitely be something,” Chandimal added. “If we can keep wickets in hand hopefully we can put a good total on the board.”

Australia had earlier named its squad, handing test debuts to Kurtis Patterson and Jhye Richardson and recalling Joe Burns for just his second test in more than two years.

Sri Lanka, which has never won a test match in Australia, will have an enhanced opportunity with the suspensions of Steve Smith and David Warner over the ball-tampering scandal last March in South Africa.

Chandimal said Sri Lanka would play three seam bowlers and one spinner.

A second test is scheduled for Canberra beginning Feb. 1.



Australia: Marcus Harris, Joe Burns, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Travis Head, Kurtis Patterson, Tim Paine (captain), Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Jhye Richardson, Nathan Lyon.

Sri Lanka: Dimuth Karunaratne, Lahiru Thirimanne, Dinesh Chandimal (captain), Kusal Mendis, Roshen Silva, Dhananjaya de Silva, Niroshan Dickwella, Dilruwan Perera, Suranga Lakmal, Dushmantha Chameera, Lahiru Kumara

Umpires: Marais Erasmus, South Africa, and Richard Illingworth, England.

TV Umpire: Michael Gough, England. Match referee: Javagal Srinath, Sri Lanka.

(Courtesy Associated Press)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here