Seven-member bench to hear petitions against Parliament dissolution

A seven-member bench is to hear the case on the petitions filed against the dissolution of Parliament.

Chief Justice Nalin Perera appointed the seven judge bench which includes Buwaneka Aluwihare, Sisira de Abrew, Priyantha Jayawardena, Prasanna Jayawardena, Vijith Malalgoda and Murudu Fernando.

The Supreme Court issued a stay order this month on a gazette notice by President Maithripala Sirisena dissolving Parliament, till December 7th.

The Supreme Court said it will consider all the petitions filed on the President’s decision to dissolve Parliament on December 4th, 5th and 6th before giving a final ruling on December 7th. (Colombo Gazette)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here