Vote on PSC nominations passed with 121 votes

A vote on the nominations to the Parliament Selection Committee (PSC) was passed with 121 votes in Parliament today.

The vote was taken after all Government members walked out of Parliament today.

Janatha Vimukthi Peramuna (JVP) leader Anura Kumara Dissanayake proposed that a vote be taken on the nominations.

Members of the United National Front (UNF), JVP and Tamil National Alliance (TNA) were in Parliament at the time of the vote.

UNF member Chatura Senaratne was not in Parliament at the time the vote was taken.

Speaker Karu Jayasuriya announced that the nominations to the PSC was passed in the vote taken using the electronic voting system. (Colombo Gazette)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here