Government MPs hijack Parliament, Speaker’s chair occupied

Government Parliamentarians staged a protest in Parliament today preventing sessions for the day from commencing.

The Speaker’s chair was occupied by a Government Parliamentarian and the entrance near the chair was blocked, preventing Speaker Karu Jayasuriya from entering the chambers.

Government MP Arundika Fernando sat on the Speaker’s chair and as a result sessions set for 1.30pm could not commence.

The Government MPs were protesting against United National Party Parliamentarian Palitha Thewarapperuma bring a knife into Parliament yesterday.

During the protest, some Government MPs and newly appointed Ministers mocked the Speakers chair and made speeches from the chair.

During the protest, United National Party, Tamil National Alliance and Janatha Vimukthi Peramuna Parliamentarians sat in their seats.

Earlier today party leaders met to discuss the agenda for the sessions today but failed to reach an agreement. (Colombo Gazette)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here