Rohit Sharma 1st man to score 4 T20I hundreds, 2nd highest run-scorer in history

Rohit Sharma lit up the night sky at the Bharat Ratan Atal Bihari Vajpayee International Cricket Stadium on Tuesday with a blistering hundred in Lucknow.

Rohit scored an unbeaten 111 from 61 balls and broke multiple records, en route to helping India thrash West Indies by 71 runs and take an unassailable 2-0 lead in the 3-match T20I series.

Rohit, in the fifth over of the Indian innings, went past Virat Kohli as the highest run scorer in T20Is for India. He also became the second-highest run-scorer with 2203 runs in 86 T20Is at an average of 33.89 behind New Zealand’s Martin Guptill (2271).

He overtook Pakistan’s Shoaib Malik (2190) and New Zealand’s Brendon McCullum (2140).

The Hitman also became the first batsman in the history of the sport to score four hundreds in the shortest format in international cricket and hence, went past New Zealand’s Colin Munro, who has scored three centuries.

Rohit’s previous century had come back in July of this year when he smashed 100 not out against England in Bristol.

During the course of his innings, Rohit put himself joint third highest on the list of most sixes in an innings. He equalled Yuvraj Singh, who accomplished the feat twice (vs England in Durban, 2007 and vs Pakistan in Ahmedabad, 2012).

Rohit in fact, holds the record with 10 sixes in an innings that he hit against Sri Lanka in Indore last year.

Rohit is also India’s most prolific six hitter in T20Is. He also went past New Zealand great McCullum on the list of most T20I sixes. Rohit now has 96 sixes as compared to McCullum’s 91 maximums.

The legend of Rohit in white ball format continued to grow exponentially as his unbeaten 111 off 61 balls helped India score 195 for 2 after being put into bat.

In reply, West Indies batting caved in once again as they managed only 124 for 9 at the end of the stipulated 20 overs.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar (2/12), Jasprit Bumrah (2/20), Khaleel Ahmed (2/30) and Kuldeep Yadav (2/32) equally shared the spoils.

West Indies’ misery in the two-month long tour was compounded as they suffered yet another series defeat after losing the Test series 0-2 and subsequently the one-dayers by 1-3 margin.

The win helped India register their 7th successive T20I series win after the draw against Australia in 2017. Since then, they defeated New Zealand, Sri Lanka, South Africa, Ireland and England in bilateral series besides winning the Nidahas Trophy.

The win also extended India’s unbeaten streak in T20I series to nine. Before the series win over New Zealand, India had drawn with Australia and defeated Sri Lanka in a one-off T20 International.

The last T20 will be played in Chennai on November 11. (Courtesy India Today)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here