President declares war on ‘group of 15’ members

President Maithripala Sirisena has declared war on the Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP) ‘group of 15’ who had left the Government with his blessings.

The President today removed former Ministers Anura Priyadharshana Yapa, John Seniviratne and Chandima Weerakody from their SLFP District Development Committee cho-chairmanship posts.

The move came hours after the SLFP Central Committee removed former Ministers Susil Premajayantha, Anura Priyadarshana Yapa, W.D.J. Seneviratne, Lakshman Yapa Abeywardena, T.B. Ekanayake and Chandima Weerakkody from their SLFP electoral organiser posts.

The former Ministers had attended a recent protest rally staged by the joint opposition against the government.

They were however invited to attend the SLFP Central Committee held last night yet they did not attend.

Former Minister Dayasiri Jayasekera, who was part of a ‘group of 16’ SLFP members who left the Government, has since made a u-turn and extended support to President Maithripala Sirisena.

The 16 SLFP members resigned from the Government in April this year, with the blessings of the President, after voting in support of a no-confidence motion against Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here