Sri Lanka announce preliminary squad for Asia Cup

Asia cup, the biggest cricketing event in the Asian continent is all set to kick start on September 15 later this year. This time the tournament will be hosted by United Arab Emirates.

The series will feature six teams in two groups. Group A consists India, Pakistan and one team from qualifiers. Group B consists Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and Afghanistan. This time it will be back to the 50 over format as the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 is coming more closer.

Less than a month to go for the tournament, Sri Lankan Cricket Board has announced a 31 member preliminary squad for the tournament. And their training is expected to commence on September 5.

Sri Lankans will be coming in to the tournamnet with some convincing performances in the last South African series even though they lost the ODI series. Also they are the defending champions of the 50 over Asia cup.

The 31 member squad features some new faces such as Shammu Ashan, Shehan Madushanka, Nishan Peiris, Kamindu Mendis, Jehan Daniel. Dinesh Chandimal who was in the ban during the South Africa series is expected to back as the captain for the team.

Sri Lankan team will face Bangladesh in their opening game on September 15 in Dubai. Then they will face Afghanistan on September 17 in Abu Dhabi. (Courtesy bdcrictime)

The 31 member preliminary squad is as follows:

Thisara Perera, Upul Tharanga, Danushka Gunathilaka, Kusal Mendis, Dinesh Chandimal, Angelo Mathews, Kusal Perera, Asela Gunaratne, Niroshan Dickwella, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Suranga Lakmal, Nuwan Pradeep, Dasun Shanaka, Lahiru Gamage, Vishwa Fernando, Dushmantha Chameera, Shehan Madushanka, Lahiru Kumara, Akila Dananjaya, Jeffrey Vandersay, Amila Aponso, Lakshan Sadakan, Nishan Peiris, Kamindu Mendis, Charith Asalanka, Jehan Daniel, Shammu Ashan, Dimuth Karunaratne, Dhananjaya de Silva, Asitha Fernando, Chamika Karunaratne.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here