Thilanga and Nishantha to clash at SLC polls

Thilanga Sumathipala, Nishantha Ranatunga, Jayantha Dharmadasa and Mohan de Silva submitted their nominations to contest for the post of President at the Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) board elections.

The board elections will take place on 31st May 2018 in compliance with a directive issued by the Sports Minister.

Earlier, the Annual General Meeting of Sri Lanka Cricket for the year 2018 which was due to be held on 19th May 2018 had been postponed.

The Annual General Meeting and Election of Office Bearers will now be conducted on the 31st May 2018 in compliance with the directive issued by the Minister under the powers vested in him by section 39(1) of the Sports Law No. 25 of 1973 (as amended) on the advice of the Attorney General subsequent to regularization of the appointment of the SLC Elections Committee. (Colombo Gazette)