Sri Lanka name 17-man squad for WI tour

Sri Lanka have named a 17-man squad for their three-Test tour to West Indies, which will be held from 26 May to 28 June, 2018.

The team’s preparations have been blighted by a series of injury concerns. Left-hand batsman Dimuth Karunaratne was ruled out due to a broken finger after the loss of bowlers Nuwan Pradeep, Dushmantha Chameera and Shehan Madushanka. Angelo Mathews and Suranga Lakmal have been included in the squad provisionally, subject to fitness.

Uncapped right-arm seam pair Asitha Fernando, 20, and Kasun Rajitha, 24, have been included, along with leg-spinner Jeffrey Vandersay and 31 year-old opening bat Mahela Udawatte.

Sri Lanka are scheduled to play three Tests throughout June, the first in Trinidad starting on 6 June, the second in St Lucia starting on 14 June and the third – a day/night game – in Barbados starting on 23 June.


Dinesh Chandimal (captain)
Mahela Udawatte
Kusal Mendis
Kusal Janith Perera
Dhananjaya de Silva
Roshen Silva
Angelo Mathews (subject to fitness)
Niroshan Dickwella
Rangana Herath
Dilruwan Perera
Akila Dananjaya
Jeffrey Vandersay
Lahiru Gamage
Kasun Rajitha
Suranga Lakmal (subject to fitness)
Lahiru Kumara
Asitha Fernando