SLFP Ministers who voted against PM to resign from their posts

The Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP) Ministers who voted against Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe by backing the no-confidence motion on him, have decided to resign from their Ministerial posts.

Accordingly the SLFP Ministers will step down from their posts and have obtained the approval of President Maithripala Sirisena for the move.

Ministers Dayasiri Jayasekera, Anura Priyadharshana Yapa, Lakshman Yapa Abeywardena, S.B. Dissanayake, Dilan Perera and Susil Premajayantha are among the SLFP Ministers who will resign from their posts.

Minister Dilan Perera said that the SLFP Ministers and SLFP Parliamentarians who will be resigning from their roles in the unity Government, will sit in the opposition benches in Parliament. (Colombo Gazette)