Cabinet meeting held with President without SLFP Ministers

Cabinet met today with President Maithripala Sirisena, without Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP) Ministers.

The United National Party (UNP) led United National Front members and others in the unity Government attended the meeting.

UNP Minister Sajith Premadasa said that the President and Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe will discuss the future of the Government.

SLFP Ministers had yesterday decided to boycott the cabinet meeting today.

The SLFP is to hold its Central Committee meeting tomorrow to discuss the next step.

The cabinet meeting today was the first since some SLFP Ministers backed a no-confidence motion against Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe.

Some United National Party (UNP) Parliamentarians have called on the SLFP Ministers to be removed from the Government.

SLFP Ministers Dayasiri Jayasekera, S.B Dissanayake and Anura Priyadharshana Yapa were among those who voted for the no-confidence motion against Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe.

Meanwhile, a cabinet reshuffle is expected to take place this week. (Colombo Gazette)