May 7 declared a public holiday to mark May Day

President Maithripala Sirisena has declared May 7th as a public holiday to mark May Day.

Official May Day events of the Government will be held on May 7th instead of May 1st owing to Vesak.

Vesak week falls on May 1st, the same day May Day rallies are held across the country. (Colombo Gazette)


Comments are closed.