President meets SLFP members following no-confidence vote

President Maithripala Sirisena met members of the Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP) today to discuss the outcome of the no-confidence vote.

Minister Anura Priyadharshana Yapa said that the SLFP members who voted for the no-confidence motion against Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe, were among those attending the meeting.

Yapa and several other SLFP Ministers of the unity Government voted for the motion which was eventually defeated.

Following the defeat a petition was handed over to the Prime Minister calling for the removal of the Government Ministers who voted for the motion. (Colombo Gazette)