UNP MPs demand removal of SLFP Ministers who backed motion

A group of United National Party (UNP) members have submitted a petition to Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe, demanding that the Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP) Ministers who voted for the no-confidence motion against the Prime Minister in Parliament, be removed from their posts.

At least 33 UNP MPs have signed the petition which was handed over to the Prime Minister after the no-confidence motion was defeated in Parliament.

Among those who voted for the motion were Sports Minister Dayasiri Jayasekera, Ministers S.B Dissanayake, Chandima Weerakody, Anura Priyadharshana Yapa, Susil Premjayantha and W.D.J Seniviratne.

Jayasekera had said earlier that they were ready to be removed from their Ministerial posts if the motion is defeated. (Colombo Gazette)


  1. This should happen even without asking. They cannot serve in the govt when they don’t have confidence in the leader.

Comments are closed.