Minority political parties decide to back Prime Minister

Minority political parties have decided to back Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe when the no-confidence vote is taken in Parliament.

The Sri Lanka Muslim Congress (SLMC), the All Ceylon Makkal Congress led by Minister Rishad Bathiudeen and the Tamil Progressive Alliance (TPA) said they will vote against the no-confidence motion.

SLMC leader Rauf Hakeem said that the High Command of the SLMC is of the opinion that the no-confidence motion presented by the joint opposition is against the entire Government.

He said that the High Command discussed several matters related to the no-confidence motion when it met today.

Hakeem said it was decided that the SLMC will vote against the motion.

Minister Mano Ganesan said that the working committee of the Tamil Progressive Alliance (TPA) which met today decided to back the Prime Minister.

“Our six MPs will vote to defeat the NCM (no-confidence motion.” Mano Ganesan said. (Colombo Gazette)