Army chief appoints six member committee to investigate bus fire

Army Commander Lieutenant General Mahesh Senanayake has appointed a six member committee to investigate the recent bus fire.

The Court of Inquiry (C of I) of senior Army Officers will be chaired by Major General Rukmal Dias, Commander, Security Forces – Central (SF-Cen) and Colonel Commandant,

Military Intelligence Corps (MIC) has been appointed by the Commander of the Army, Lieutenant General Mahesh Senanayake to look into all aspects, related to the bus explosion at Kahagolla, Diyatalawa, in which several Army, Air Force personnel and civilians were seriously injured.

This Court of Inquiry is expected to submit its findings and the report within a few days to the Commander of the Army.

Other serving members in the Court of Inquiry are Brigadier E.R.P Weerawardane, Brigadier Administration and Quartering, SFHQ-Cen, Brigadier P.M.L Chandrasiri, Commandant, Marksmanship and Sniper Training School (MSTS), Colonel P.P.A Perera, Colonel General Staff, Sri Lanka Army Training Command (ARTRAC), Lieutenant Colonel H.D.J.P Weeratunga, Commanding Officer, 7 Sri Lanka Signal Corps (SLSC) and Major N.A.B.M.S Nisshanka, Research Officer, Nuclear Biological and Chemical Wing at the Centre for Research and Development.

Initial investigations conducted on the explosion and fire which destroyed a passenger bus on Wednesday revealed that a grenade had caused the explosion.

A minor explosion and a fire destroyed the passenger bus travelling from Jaffna to Diyatalawa injuring 19 passengers while it was plying in the general area of Kahagolla, Diyatalawa.

Reports claimed that after reaching Bandarawela town the bus had transferred the passengers bound for Diyatalawa to another private bus before the incident took place.

Among the passengers were seven Army personnel and 5 Air Force personnel. The condition of two Army personnel was reportedly critical. (Colombo Gazette)