Over 130 complaints filed against the press with PCCSL

The Press Complaints Commission of Sri Lanka (PCCSL) released its Annual Report 2016 following the monthly meeting of the Board of Directors of the PCCSL today at its office in Colombo.

PCCSL CEO Sukumar Rockwood presented a copy of the Annual Report 2016 to Kumar Nadesan, Chairman, Board of Directors of the PCCSL and other Board Members present. The Annual Report 2016 was printed on gratis basis by Nimal Welgamaa, Managing Director of Upali Newspapers Limited.

The PCCSL received 133 complaints in 2016. Of the 133 complaints, 84 complaints were valid complaints falling within the purview of the PCCSL mechanism under the Editors’ Code of The Editors’ Guild of Sri Lanka, while, as many as 317 complaints were resolved directly by editors providing a ‘Right of Readers’ to the aggrieved parties.

The PCCSL, which is an independent, voluntary, self-regulatory body, is supported by the Newspaper Society of Sri Lanka (NSSL), The Editors’ Guild of Sri Lanka (TEGOSL), the Free Media Movement (FMM) and the Sri Lanka Working Journalists Association (SLWJA) and is affiliated with the Federation of Media Employees Trade Union, the Sri Lanka Muslim Media Forum, the Sri Lanka Tamil Media Alliance and the South Asian Free Media Association – Sri Lanka Chapter.

The nine-members of the Board of Directors are: Kumar Nadesan, Chairman, Sinha Ratnatunga, Deputy Chairman, Manik de Silva, Nimal Welgama, Siri Ranasinghe, N. M. Ameen, Mohanlal Piyadasa, Ananda Jayasekera and Duminda Sampath.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here