Selection committee headed by Sanath resigns

The Sri Lanka selection committee headed by Sanath Jayasuriya has resigned following the recent sequence of poor results, ESPN Cricinfo reported.

They have already picked the squads for the last two ODIs and sole T20 of the India tour, and will remain in force in case any additions need to be made, but will step down as soon as the tour concludes.

“Sri Lanka Cricket chief selector Sanath Jayasuriya, as well as committee members Ranjith Madurasinghe, Romesh Kaluwitharana, Asanka Gurusinha and Eric Upashantha, have decided to resign,” Sri Lanka’s sports ministry said. “A combined letter bearing the names of the above committee has conveyed this decision to sports minister Dayasiri Jayasekara. According to the letter, their tenure will end on September 7.”

The announcement came two days after Sri Lanka lost the third ODI in Pallekele, and conceded the five-match series 3-0. They had also been beaten 3-0 in the Test series. Earlier in the year, there had been an unprecedented ODI series loss to Zimbabwe, an unprecedented Test loss to Bangladesh, a torrid tour of South Africa, and a disappointing Champions Trophy campaign.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here