CDB Tier B Champions at MCA Cricket Sixes

The CDB Team emerged Tier B Champions at the Annual MCA Open Sixes Cricket Tournament, beating Maliban Biscuits in the Finals. This resounding victory comes after the jubilation of CDB clinching the championship in the D Division 40-over game organized by the MCA, which now gives Team CDB an unprecedented two championship titles from the MCA tournaments held this year.

The MCA Cricket Sixes was sponsored for the first time by Citizens Development Business Finance PLC (CDB), an award winning financial solutions provider in the NBFI sector, which had the participation of 12 teams in Tier A and 48 teams in Tier B. CDB’s versatile all-rounder W.P.D.P. Dharmasiri swept the boards by winning three of the five awards; he was crowned with the laurel for the Most Number of Sixes Scored in the tournament with his thirteen sixes, was crowned Best Batsman and Man of the Tournament.  The Man of the Final Award was clinched by Buddhika Silva from CDB as well.

Awards were presented by Chairman of the Tournament Committee Sujeewa de Silva, Deputy General Manager-Finance of CDB Hasitha Dassanayake, Director and Chief Credit Officer of CDB Sasindra Munasinghe, President of the MCA Niran Mahawatte and General Secretary Nalin Wickremesinghe.

CDB, which has always been a proponent of encouraging extracurriculars as a holistic team builder to promote team spirit and camaraderie, aptly sees the fruition of this philosophy with these two wins, as its dynamic team continues to shine, not only at cricket but in the sporting arena in general.