Feroz Shah Kotla to host Sri Lanka Test this year

A bonanza is in store for cricket lovers in the country with the BCCI set to host 23 international matches spread across three series between middle of September and the end of the year.

The Board’s Tour and Fixtures committee, at their meeting, tweaked the schedule a bit to accommodate Sri Lanka, who were supposed to play a full series in India early next year. The Lankans will now tour India between mid-November and end-December.

“We had to make this change to allow our team play in the Independence Cup in Sri Lanka. The tournament will be held in March after the team returns from South Africa,” BCCI’s acting secretary Amitabh Choudhary said.

The BCCI roped in Sri Lanka for a full tour after the proposed India-Pakistan series later this year fell through. “There were six proposed exchange of tours between India and Pakistan which did not happen. The gaps in the itinerary had to be filled,” said Choudhary, adding there is no possibility of India playing Pakistan even at neutral venues.

The home season will start in mid-September with five ODIs against Australia. The Aussies will next play three T20Is in Hyderabad, Ranchi and Guwahati, where the Barsapara stadium is scheduled to host its maiden international match.

New Zealand will follow their trans-Tasmanian neighbours and will play three ODIs and three T20Is from mid-October. India’s home run will end with a series against Sri Lanka who will play three Tests, three ODIs and three T20Is. Although the BCCI has not announced the dates of any of the matches, technical committee chairman Sourav Ganguly said the Lankan series will begin with a Test at in Kolkata from November 16. (Courtesy Times of India)