Bangladesh seek ODI series win at Dambulla

Prodigous youngster Mehedi Hasan Miraz says Bangladesh will look to wrap up their first ODI series win over Sri Lanka in Dambulla with one match to spare.

The Tigers fashioned a commanding show in the opening match there to claim a commanding 90-run win over the islanders on Saturday, thanks to dazzling Tamim Iqbal century.

The next game will be played at the same venue, Rangiri Dambulla International Stadium, on Tuesday with Bangladesh leading the series 1-0.

The tourists did not practice on Sunday. Some of the Sri Lankan players took part in training by themselves.

At the hotel, the teenaged offspinner Miraz told the journalists that Bangladesh do not want to wait until the last game to take the series.

“We hope to seal the series at Dambulla. If we don’t make any mistake, we expect to win [the next game],” he said.

Bangladesh outplayed the hosts in the opener, notching an imposing 324 batting first as Sri Lanka crumbled to 234 all out with nearly five overs remaining in their reply.

The margin of the victory has put Bangladesh, who clinched a historic victory in the second Test to square the series 1-1, in the driving seat for the series.

It has now labelled them as the favourites on their third overseas tour on the bounce.

“Obviously it feels great after winning, but the series is not over. If winning just one match makes us happy, we won’t be able to move forward. We will celebrate after securing the series,” said the 19-year-old after bagging two wickets on his ODI debut on Saturday.

He draws inspiration from individual milestones of the seniors.

“Tamim reached 10000 runs, everybody congratulated him. I am proud to have witnessed this. The seniors’ achievements are inspiring the new recruits.”

Tamim smashed a sublime 127, his eighth ODI century, in the first match and stitched up a decisive 144-run stand with Shakib Al Hasan, who made 72.

The teams will move to Colombo for the last match of the series, set for Apr 1. The ODI series will be followed by two Twenty20 Internationals. (Courtesy bdnews24)