Heroes of 1818 Uva-Wellassa rebellion declared patriots

President Maithripala Sirisena today declared 82 heroes of the 1818 Uva-Wellassa rebellion, who were sentenced to the capital punishment and were expatriated, as patriots.

The President signed the gazette declaring the 82 heroes of the 1818 rebellion as patriots at a historic ceremony named ‘Uththamaabhiwandana’, which was organized by the Department of Government Information. It was held at the Magul Maduwa in Kandy.

Chief Prelates of Malwatta and Asgiriya chapters, Speaker Karu Jayasuriya, Ministers, Parliamentarians, and family members of the heroes of the 1818 rebellion took part in the event. (Colombo Gazette)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here