Lakmal fined for throw in Chibhabha’s direction

CRICKET-ZIM-SRISri Lanka fast bowler Suranga Lakmal has been fined 50% of his match fee for an incident involving Zimbabwe opener Chamu Chibhabha during Monday’s washout. According to an ICC release, “Lakmal dangerously threw the ball back at Chibhabha at the striker’s end” in the second over of play, in breach of article 2.1.1 of the ICC code of conduct.

In addition to the fine, Lakmal was handed two demerit points; a player who gets four demerit points in a 24-month period will receive a ban of one Test, or two ODIs, or two T20s, based on his team’s schedule.

“The incident happened during the second over of the match when Lakmal dangerously threw the ball back at Zimbabwe opener Chamu Chibhabha at the striker’s end when the batsman had stayed in his crease after playing a shot and was not attempting a run,” the ICC release said. “The throw missed the batsman and went to the wicketkeeper, but such a reaction from the bowler was deemed as contrary to the spirit of the game.”

Only 13.3 overs were possible in the game, due to rain, after which the charged was levelled against Lakmal by the four officiating umpires, Michael Gough, Langton Rusere, Richard Illingworth and Jeremiah Matibiri. Lakmal pleaded guilty, and accepted the sanction proposed by match referee Javagal Srinath, meaning there was no need for a hearing. (Courtesy ESPN Cricinfo)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.