UN committee against torture to review Sri Lanka

art-353-TORTURE-300x0The UN committee against torture is meeting in Geneva from 7 November to 7 December to review Sri Lanka and several other countries.

The UN committee with review Ecuador (8-9 November); Finland (9-10 November); Monaco (11 and 14 November); Sri Lanka (15-16 November); Namibia (18 and 21 November); Turkmenistan (21-22 November); Armenia (23-24 November) and Cape Verde (24-25 November).

The countries are among the 159 States parties to the Convention against Torture and Other Cruel, Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment, and so are required to undergo regular reviews by the Committee on how they are implementing the Convention and the Committee’s previous recommendations.

The committee, which is composed of 10 independent experts, will engage in a dialogue with the respective Government delegations.

The committee will publish its findings, officially known as concluding observations, on the respective states on 7 December.  (Colombo Gazette)