Court rejects request to issue notice on 11 opposition MPs

gavelA request by the police to issue notice on 11 joint opposition parliamentarians has been rejected by the Colombo Fort Magistrate.

The police had sought the order over the protest staged recently by the joint opposition against the former Central Bank governor recently.

The police sought the court order on parliamentarians Namal Rajapaksa, Wimal Weerawansa, Vasudeva Nanayakkara, Rohitha Abeygunawardena, Johnston Fernando, Dinesh Gunawardena, Prasanna Ranatunga, Mahindananda Aluthgamage, Shriyani Wijewickrama, Ranjith de Soysa and Bandula Gunawardena. (Colombo Gazette)