Australia tour of Sri Lanka to begin in Pallekele

AustraliaAustralia’s three-Test series on the tour of Sri Lanka is scheduled to begin from July 26 – unusually – in Pallekele, as authorities seek to avoid a clash between the Kandy Esala Perahera festival and the Test. Australia will also play five ODIs and two T20s on the tour, spread between Khettarama, Dambulla and Pallekele from August 21 to September 9. Hambantota is the only functional international ground that will not host matches.

Sri Lanka tours usually begin in Galle, but with the Perahera season set to begin in early August, SLC has opted to make a change on this occasion. After Pallekele, the action will move to Galle before the series finishes up at the SSC. The P Sara Oval stadium is in contention to host a tour match, though this has not yet been confirmed.

The one-day series begins with two ODIs in Khettarama, before moving on to two games in Dambulla, then the final one in Pallekele. The T20s are at Pallekele and Khettarama. SLC has declared its intentions to put in effective floodlights at the Dambulla ground, but at this stage, it appears that the two Dambulla matches will be day games.

This tour is Australia’s first to the island since 2011, when they won the three-Test series 1-0. Australia have played 13 Tests in Sri Lanka against the hosts, won six Tests, and lost only one – in 1999. (Courtesy Cricinfo)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here