Constitutional Assembly begins meeting in Parliament

srilanka_parliament-8The Constitutional Assembly began meeting in Parliament today for the first time since it was established.

The Constitutional Assembly has been tasked to draft a new Constitution for Sri Lanka.

Speaker Karu Jayasuriya presided the over the first sitting of the Assembly.

At the first sitting of the Constitutional Assembly seven Deputy Chairmen were elected to preside over the Assembly meetings in the absence of the chairman.

The seven elected Deputy Chairmen of the Assembly are Thilanga Sumathipala, Selvam Adaikkalanathan, Kabir Hashim, Sudarshini Fernandopulle, Tilak Marapana, Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena and Dr. Nalinda Jayathissa.

A Steering Committee consisting of twenty one (21) members were appointed and Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe was unanimously appointed as the Chairman of the Steering Committee.

The members appointed to the Steering Committee of the Assembly are Ranil Wickremesinghe, Lakshman Kiriella, Nimal Siripala de Silva, Rauff Hakeem, Dr. Wijeyadasa Rajapakshe, A. D. Susil Premajayantha, Rishad Bathiudeen, Patali Champika Ranawaka, D. M. Swaminathan, Mano Ganesan, Malik Samarawickrama, Rajavarothiam Sampanthan, Anura Dissanayaka, Dilan Perera, Dinesh Gunawardena, Jayampathy Wickramaratne, M. A. Sumanthiran, Dr. Mrs. Thusitha Wijemanna, Bimal Rathnayake, Prasanna Ranatunga and Douglas Devananda.

The Constitutional Assembly was thereafter adjourned, sine die. Subsequently, the first meeting of the Steering Committee was held in Committee Room No. 3 of the Parliamentary Complex under the chairmanship of the Prime Minister. (Colombo Gazette)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here