West Indies lift World T20 title after thriller

westindiesenglandl1West Indies’ Carlos Brathwaite hit England’s Ben Stokes for four successive sixes to snatch a thrilling four-wicket win in Sunday’s World Twenty20 final as the Caribbean side became the first team to win the title twice.

Needing 19 off the last over sent down by Stokes, Brathwaite exhibited nerves of steel to complete the chase in stunning style and trigger wild celebrations amongst his jubilant team mates who invaded the Eden Gardens pitch.

England’s death overs hero Stokes was left distraught after failing to contain Brathwaite, who had a memorable night having scored 34 with the bat after earlier claiming 3-23 with the ball to restrict England to a modest total.

Marlon Samuels remained not out on 85, playing a key role in reviving the 2012 champions’ chase, but it was brilliant Brathwaite’s blistering total off 10 balls that saw them home.

Put in to bat, England got off to a horrendous start before Joe Root hit a fluent 54 to help the 2010 champions post a competitive 155 for nine wickets.

Root added 61 in partnership with Jos Buttler (36), who hit left-arm spinner Sulieman Benn for back-to-back sixes before holing out in the deep.

Dwayne Bravo (3-37) struck twice in the 14th over and Root perished in the next over, trying to scoop a Brathwaite (3-23) delivery.

West Indies wobbled early in their chase after part-time spinner Root dismissed Johnson Charles and the dangerous Chris Gayle in his the first three balls to peg them back.

Samuels added 75 runs with Dwayne Bravo (25) to steady the ship before Brathwaite provided the remarkable late fireworks to secure an emotional victory. (Courtesy Reuters)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here