Mahela signs up with Pakistan League

Mahela-390x284Mahela Jayawardene, the Sri Lankan veteran, has become the latest player to sign up with the Pakistan Super League.

Jayawardene, who represented Sri Lanka in 149 Tests, 448 ODIs, and 55 T20Is, joins a club of more than 150 foreign players who have consented to be included in the player draft. In an illustrious international career spanning 18 years, Jayawardene has established himself as a leading sportsperson with great mentorship qualities. Jayawardene led Sri Lanka to the finals of the 2007 ICC World Cup and the 2012 ICC World T20.

“We shared the good news regarding Sangakkara yesterday and we now welcome Mahela Jayawardene to the PSL. Mahela Jayawardene is a class player and he adds more quality to our league,” said, Najam Sethi, the Chairman of the Governing Council.

Mahela Jayawardene joins fellow Sri Lankans Kumar Sangakkara, Angelo Mathews, Lasith Malinga, TM Dilshan, Thisara Perera, Ajantha Mendis, Lahiru Thirimanne, Nuwan Kulasekara, Chamara Kapugedera, Dinesh Chandimal, Seekuge Prasanna, K Weeraratne, Jeevan Mendis, Upul Tharanga, Sachithra Senanayake, Dilshan Munaweera, Isuru Udana, Kithuruwan Vithanage, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, and Dushmantha Chameera.

Pakistan Super League will take place between 4-24 February, 2016 in Dubai and Sharjah, with five city-based franchises set to take part. Teams from Quetta, Lahore, Peshwar, Karachi, and Islamabad will take part in the first edition. (Courtesy Cricket Buzz)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here