Sri Lanka announce squad for three-match ODI series

imglasith-malingaSri Lanka have announced their squad for the three-match ODI series against West Indies, which starts on 1 November in Colombo. The second and the third ODIs will be played on 4 and 7 November.

The strong-looking, 15-man squad includes three new faces — Shehan Jayasuriya, Jeffrey Vandersay and Dhanushka Gunathilaka.

The selectors have also decided to add Lahiru Thirimanne, who was dropped from the Test team after some below par performances. He represented the home team in the first Test against West Indies.

Thirimanne’s scores read 16,0, 12, 62, 11, 13, 44, 11, 0, 7 and 20 in his last six Test matches. However, his scores in the ODI format have been better, with two half centuries in his last three ODIs, which must have prompted the selectors to pick the left-hander.

The Sri Lankan squad comprises some big names such as Tilakratne Dilshan, Angelo Mathews, Ajantha Mendis, Lasith Malinga, Nuwan Kulasekera and Dinesh Chandimal. Sri Lanka are going to be big favourites against West Indies.

Sri Lanka, who lost their last home series against Pakistan, will be eager to get back to their winning ways against West Indies. New players such as Jayasuriya, Vandersay and Gunathilaka could be even handed their first ODI cap.

West Indies, who have already lost the first Test against Sri Lanka, have been one of the worst team in ODIs as they have even failed to qualify for the ICC Champions Trophy 2017. Hence, West Indies will want to prove everyone that they are still one of the best cricket playing nations in the world by playing some quality cricket against Sri Lanka in the fifty-over format.

Sri Lanka ODI squad : Angelo Mathews, Lahiru Thirimanne, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Kusal Janith Perera, Dinesh Chandimal, Milinda Siriwardena, Shehan Jayasuriya, Sachithra Senanayake, Jefferey Vandersay, Ajantha Mendis, Lasith Malinga, Nuwan Kulasekera, Suranga Lakmal, Dushmantha Chameera and Dhanushka Gunathilaka. (IB Times)