Sri Lanka resolution has 38 co-sponsors

UNHRCThe resolution on Sri Lanka submitted to the UN Human Rights Council (UNHRC) and adopted without a vote on Thursday had 38 co-sponsors as of yesterday (Friday), the last day of the 30th session of the UNHRC in Geneva.

The deadline for more co-sponsors to add their names to the list is October 16, according to the UNHRC Secretariat.

Albania, Australia, Germany, Greece, Latvia, Montenegro, Poland, Romania, Sri Lanka, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland and the United States of America were the original sponsors and co-sponsors.

As of yesterday Estonia, France, Ireland,  Japan, Netherlands, Republic of Korea, Sierra Leone, Austria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Canada, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, Georgia, Hungary, Italy, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Malta, Norway, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland came in as additional co-sponsors. (Colombo Gazette)


  1. Interestingly India, China and Russia are not in the list. 34 of the co-sponsors are western nations mostly Europeans with the usual coat-tail hangers Japan and South Korea from Asia. No NAM support nor Arab support. What is unwritten here is more important than what is written here.

  2. Are any non aligned countries including Pakistan, India and China and other eastern countries in the list? What are the countries that have not cosponsored the resolution?

Comments are closed.