New Defense Secretary among 44 new Secretaries

34A new Defence Secretary has been appointed and he is among 44 new Secretaries to the Ministries named today.

Karunasena Hettiarachchi was appointed as the new Defence Secretary.

Secretary to the President P. B. Abeykoon announced the appointments at the Presidential Secretariat.

The New Secretaries received their letters of appointment from the Secretary to the President.

Secretary to the Prime Minister Saman Ekanayake and the Secretary to the Cabinet Ministers Sumith Abeysinghe were also present at this occasion.

The new Secretaries to the Ministries are;

C. Sivagnanasothi – Ministry of Rehabilitation, Resettlement and Hindu Religious Affairs
R. H. S. Samarathunga – Ministry of Finance
S. M. Gotabhaya Jayaratne – Ministry of Labour and Trade Union Relations
W. M. V. Narampanawa – Minister of Parliamentary Reform and Mass Media
W. M. Bandusena – Ministry Education
J. K. D. Amarawardana – Ministry of Primary Industries
Udaya R. Seneviratne – Ministry of Mahaweli Development and Environment
Nihal Somaweera – Ministry of Transport
W. S. Karunaratne – Ministry of Mineral Oil and Petrolium Gas
Wasantha Ekanayake – Ministry Buddha Sasana
P. H. L. Wimalasiri Perera – Ministry of Postal Service & Muslim Affairs
P. H. J. B. Sugathadasa – Ministry of Tourism Development and Christian Affairs
G. S. Vithanage – Ministry of Foreign Employment
S. S. Miyanawala – Ministry of Disaster Management
Padmasiri Jayamanna – Ministry of Justice
R. M. D. B. Meegasmulla – Ministry of Sustainable Development and Wild Life
V. B. P. K. Weerasinghe – Ministry of National Dialogue
Upali Marasinghe – Ministry of Health, Nutrition and Indigenous Medicine
Gamini Rajakaruna – Ministry of Southern Development
A. M. Jayawickrama – Ministry of Plantations
D. M. R. B. Dissanayake – Ministry of Sports
B. Wijayaratne – Ministry of Agriculture
J. J. Rathnasiri – Ministry of Home Affairs
B. B. S. Batagoda – Ministry of Power and Renewable Energy
L. P. Jayampathi – Ministry of Ports and Shipping
M. I. F. Rafeek – Ministry of Policy Planning and Economic Affairs
I. H. K. Mahanama – Ministry of Lands
J. Dadallage – Ministry of Public Administration and Management
D. K. R. Ekanayake – Ministry of Rural Economy
R. Nadarasapille – Ministry of Upcountry New Villages, Infrastructure Facilities and Community Development
T. M. K. B. Thennakoon – Ministry of Industry and Commerce
C. Vageeshwara – Ministry of Foreign Affairs
N. Rupasinghe – Ministry of Megapolice and Western Development
Karunasena Hettiarachchi – Ministry of Defence
P. Ranepura – Ministry of Skill Development and Vocational Training
D. Swarnapala – Ministry of Internal Affairs, Wayamba Development and Cultural Affairs
M. Senevirathne – Ministry of Social Empowerment and Welfare
R. Vijayalakshmi – Ministry of Technology, Technical Education and Employment
W. M. M. R. Adhikari – Ministry of Fisheries and Aquatic Resources
D. C. Dissanayake – Ministry of University Education and Highways
W. K. K. Athukorala – Ministry of Housing and Construction
Jagath Wijeweera – Ministry of Law and Order and Prisons Reform
Chandrani Senarathne – Ministry of Women and Children’s Affairs
Ravindra Hewawitharana – Ministry of Public Enterprise Development


  1. The list of ministries show a total mismatch. Ministry of Rehabilitation and resettlement is linked with Hindu affairs as if all those who need resettlement are necessarily Hindus. Likewise ministry of Tourism is linked with Christian affairs. Ministry of Postal services linked to Muslim affairs. It is evident how this government is bending over backwards to satisfy all the defectors and supporters. Giving ministry posts to guys rejected by voters is laughable. Already the cabinet and non cabinet ministers form a long list.

Comments are closed.